Jonathan Silk - Fragment CD

Jonathan Silk - Fragment CD

Regular price £10.00 £0.00 Unit price per
Tax included.

The Jonathan Silk Big Band is an 18-piece ensemble performing original compositions written by Jonathan Silk himself.

Award-winning drummer and composer Jonathan Silk releases his adventurous new album Fragment this November on Stoney Lane Records – a set of striking, dynamic originals for big band and strings.

From the high-octane power of the 19-strong big band alongside the graceful 13-piece string section, Fragment gives subtle nods to Jonathan’s Scottish roots, his world travels and the ever-changing natural landscape.

A driving presence on the thriving Birmingham jazz scene since graduating from the city’s Conservatoire in 2011, Jonathan’s recording brings together key players from both Birmingham and London, conducted by fellow Scottish drummer Andrew Bain. Awarded the Scottish Young Jazz Musician of The Year in 2014, Jonathan is a rising star in UK jazz, having performed worldwide with stellar names from Soweto Kinch and Liane Carroll to Stan Sulzmann and Ian Ballamy.

There are strong US influences on Jonathan’s writing, notably Brooklyn-based drummer Jim Black and saxophonist David Binney, to mentors and celebrated composers Maria Schneider...  more


released November 4, 2016

All music written by Jonathan Silk

Track Listing:

1. Introduction 01:54
2. Buchaille 07:45
3. First Light 07:22
4. Prelude 03:47
5. Barefeet 06:05
6. Reflection 02:17
7. In Thought 06:49
8. Fragment 06:46
9. Withdrawal 02:56
10. Fool’s Paradise 10:58
11. Last Light 03:02

Released November 4, 2016


Stoney Lane Records - an inventive and independent record label, growing out of a whole host of musical projects, collaborations, inventions, experiments, friendships and weird & wonderful ideas, centred around Birmingham, UK. We focus on distinctive and exciting new music, going wherever the music takes us – crossing the eclectic worlds of jazz, contemporary classical, improvisation, subtle electronics, and world/roots

Share this Product